Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 13th, 2010

Contemporary Taipei

I found Taipei to have modern infrastructure and as such was really easy to get around in.  It definitely helped to speak Chinese, but a good number of people spoke some English, and there were plenty of signs and maps in English.  Usually if I looked confused someone would approach me and ask if they could help (though I think this is partly due to them not getting a lot of tourists so people are more eager to help).  Taiwan is currently pushing tourism and I’ve read several travel articles predicting Taiwan will become the next big travel hotspot in this decade.  I’ve also heard that Taiwan is making a lot of efforts to be environmentally friendly in order to provide for a better future, and I noted lots of recycling facilities around the city, plus warnings on some of the rubbish bins.  My hostel even composted. In general, where there was a rubbish bin there was also a recycling bin (why don’t all cities do this?!), especially in subways stations.  The subway was fast, cheap, and very clean (probably because you’re not allowed to eat, drink, or chew gum on it, which I resented at first but came to like–it cuts down on dirtiness and also gross smells on the train).  They also seem to be a bit obsessed with queueing (even more than British people!).  They draw lines on the floor of subway stations to form lanes for people to queue in while waiting for the train.  I found people to generally be very polite about letting you on and off the train and lifts, which I really appreciated.

Dear London, please put these in tube stations!

In addition to prohibiting eating, drinking, and more on the subway, Taiwan seems to be a fan of "don'ts" more generally. I found this sign outside a park. Do they really need to tell people not to bring their own desks to the park? I wonder if that's actually happened...

Hopefully this will make people think twice.

Of course, the quinessential symbol of contemporary Taipei is Taipei 101, which was the tallest building in the world until recently.  Most of the buildings surrounding it are only 10 stories tall, which makes 101 seem all the bigger.  I also enjoyed the futuristic Ximending area, which my guidebook described as Taipei’s answer to Tokyo’s Harajuku district (it’s not like I imagine Harajuku but I’ll see!).  Their description made me imagine it to be like London’s Camden Town but instead I found it to be a weird amalgam of the feel of Camden, Soho, and Oxford Street.  But I liked it.

Ximending at night

Taipei 101

101 reflected on glass donor plaques

Graffiti in Ximending

I ended up in Ximending on Halloween day, which was an interesting and funexperience.  It was packed, as not only where there Halloween revelers out and about, it was the day of Taiwan Pride and a rock festival featuring Taiwanese bands.  The rock festival was free so I got to catch a concert at no cost.   Taiwan’s gay pride parade was not what I’d expect from a parade (instead of blocking off the whole street they only block off one lane so people are marching next to passing cars, though someone told me this gives is a more ‘integrated’ feel and more visibility; I’m not sure if that’s true or not), but it was fun that I happened to stumble across it!  And as it turns out, I later read that this year’s Taiwan Pride broke records–with 30,000 participants it became Asia’s largest gay pride parade. This year’s theme was “Out and Vote”.  In 2003 the Taiwanese legislature proposed legalising same-sex marriage and adoption, but sadly the bill has been stalled since then.

Halloween in Ximending

Rock festival

Taiwan Pride

Ximending graffiti

More Halloween--Santa zombie

Read Full Post »